News - Friday 12th December 19

Kilmurry Card Results. 

The following are the results of the Weekly Kilmurry 25 card drive on Thursday night Best of 20 games. 1st Michael Cawley and Michael McAndrew 2nd A tie Helen and Sean Keane, Liam and Patricia Garvey. 3rd Paddy Kelly and John Gilger. Raffle 1st Frank Heffernan 2nd Darragh Sheridan 3rd Michael McAndrew Hampers 1st Michael McAndrew and Evelyn Crowley 2nd Evelyn Crowley and Pakie Hefferon 


Joe Elliott Win’s Lotto 

Congratulation to Joe Elliott 17 Rusheeny Green, Hartstown, Clonsilla, Dublin 15 who scooped the Crossmolina Deel-Rovers Club Lotto Jackpot €9,750 on Saturday night 7th December. Joe’s lucky numbers were 3 – 4 – 21 – 25. The Draw took place in The Thatch Bar. This week’s jackpot is €3,000. Many thanks for your continued support 


Died in Kilkelly

The Death occurred peacefully on Saturday 7th December of Elizabeth Betty Moran Derrycastle, Kilkelly Co Mayo and formerly of Leeds England, Canada and Knockbrack, Castlehill, Ballina. Her remains reposed at Hiney’s Funeral home on Wednesday evening with removal to The Church of Our Lady, Kilmurry. Requiem Mass on Thursday with burial afterwards in the adjoining cemetery. Elizabeth is survived by her daughters Ann, Maria and Helene, sons Thomas and Michael, sister Veronica McDonnell Kinard Crossmolina grandchildren, great-grandchildren, sons-in-law, daughters-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, nephews, nieces, relatives, friends and neighbours. May she rest in peace


ISPCC Collection 

Crossmolina Deel-Rovers recent church gate collection on behalf of ISPCC The amount collected was €625.83. Many Thank’s to all those who contributed.



Crossmolina Deel-Rovers Annual General Meeting was held on Friday 22nd November and was well attended. Eamon Howley Stepped down as Chairman after 6 Years. He was thanked by all in attendance for the role he filled and the 

Extraordinary efforts he went to for the club over the years. Eamon was delighted to have played a part and is looking forward to many more years working within the club. The following officers elected for the coming year were  

Patron Dr Michael Loftus, President Cathal Prior Vice President’s Ray Mulligan, Christy Heffernan, John O’Boyle, Peter Hegarty, Mick Moore, Fr Francis Judge, Michael Judge, Gerry Heffernan, John O’Donnell and Padraig Mullen Chairman Thomas Jordan, Vic Chairman Billy Loftus, Secretary Michael Hegarty, Assistant Secretary Mary Lynn, Treasurer Damien Lavin Assistant Thomas McNulty Jnr, Register Mary Lynn, Health and Safety Officer Sean Keane, Pro and History Officer Michael Hegarty Assistant PRO and History P.J.Hughes Social Media Officer Michael Gallagher. Offig Na Gaeilge Fiachra Walshe Coaching Officer Colm Reilly. Health and Well Being Peadar Gardiner North Board Delegates John Moran and P.J.Hughes County Board Delegates Damien Lavin and Michael Hegarty Executive Committee Annette Gray Marie Haran, Dermot Loftus Eamon Howley, Enda Lavelle and Development Committee 


Twin Trees Hotel

The Twin Trees Hotel are running an evening Promoting Health & Healing with a number of guest speakers on Thursday 16th January from 8.00pm to 9.30pm. General Admission €10.  All proceeds go the Ballina Family Resource Centre.  Your Support would be very much appreciated.


Dementia Dance Club

Community Action on Dementia is a FREE dance club for people living with dementia and their families/carers. It is held in the Ballina Family Resource Centre every Thursday from 2.30pm to 4.00 pm.  Light refreshments served.  Ring Francis on 0868366312 for more info.


Exercise for Women

Exercise classes for women take place every Wednesday morning from 11.00 am to 12.00 noon in the Ballina Family Resource Centre, Ardnaree.  The group enjoy a chat and catch-up over a cup of tea/coffee after the exercise.  New members welcome.  Ring 096 75573 for more info.


Christmas Day Centre Bingo.

Christmas Day Centre Bingo in the Social Services, Chapel St, Crossmolina on Wednesday 18th December 2.00pm – 4.00 pm, light refreshments will be served. All welcome.


Bridge Club Results

The following are the results of the Weekly Crossmolina Bridge Club Session in Hiney’s. 1st Nuala Doyle and Maureen Barrett 2nd Mary Garrett and Teresa McNulty, Breeda Mulkearns and Padraic Langan, 4th Mary Benson and Ena O’Boyle 


Deel- Rovers Bord Na Nog Awards

The annual Crossmolina Bord Na Nog social took place in the sports hall on Sunday week. With over 100 in attendance. The Annual the players of the year awards as usual the highlight of the evening. The following were the recipients of the awards. 

Bord Na nog Awards National Schools Oisin Deane, U10 Dylan Keane U11 B Evan Molloy U11 A Ethan Reilly, U12 B Aaron Keane U12 A Sean Heffernan U13 Nathan Lynch, U14 Dr Michael Loftus gold Medal Diarmuid Fox, U15 Darragh Syron U16 Niall Coggins U18 Patrick McAndrew


Ciaran McDonald Mayo Coaching Role

At the executive meeting of Crossmolina Deel-Rover Club on Tuesday night Ciaran McDonald was Congratulation and wished the best of good luck on appointment to the Mayo Senior Coaching Staff. Ciaran’s role will be to work closely with James Burke in a coaching capacity and will support the development of the players in a football context.


Well Done Rachel 

The Executive meeting of the Deel-Rovers club on Tuesday night Rachel Kearns was congratulated on her All-Star Award and the McHale /Rover team on the wonderful achievements during the winning Mayo and Connacht Titles and were only a score away from a historic all- Ireland title. What enjoyment you gave us all thanks for the memories